Document Type

Conference Proceeding


A history of liturgy in the Christian Reformed Church (CRC), divided into four periods: the Datheenian period (1857-1916), the Dialogic period (1916-1930), the period of Quiescence (1930-1964), and the period of Reawakening (1964-?). Vriend also discusses the theological basis for the CRC's emphasis on the dialogic interaction between God and the Church and the dramatic shape of CRC liturgy.

Publication Date




To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.